Saturday, July 19, 2008

Speakers, Awards, Tour, and Banquet

Tulsa, Oklahoma, Saturday, July 19, 2008
Oklahoma author Jim Fulbright spoke on "Lawmen, Cowmen, and Big City Dandies: The Volunteers of 1898," Jan Devereaux on "Lottie Deno," Corey Recko on "Samuel B. Axtel and the Colfax County War ," and Paul Cool on "Texas Ranger John B. Tays" in the morning sessions. Cool, commenting on history in general, emphasized that individuals and their decisions, as much as movements or forces, play a key role in the making of history.

Corey Recko

Paul Cool

WWHA presented awards to outstanding Western historians and authors at the luncheon. Awards included the following.

The President's Silver Star Award went to Ida Saunders and Karen Tanner. The Lifetime Achievement Award for Contributions to Western History went to John B. Tanner, Jr. Best Book of the Year went to Corey Recko for Murder on the White Sands. Best Article of the Year went to Robin L. Andrews for "Belles of Tombstone." Leon Metz, Harold Edwards, Chuck Parsons, and Robert DeArment were inducted into the NOLA Hall of Fame.

Award recipients (left to right): Ida Saunders, Karen Holliday Tanner, John B. Tanner, Jr., Chuck Parsons, Corey Recko, Sharon Cunningham (for Robin Andrews), and Robert K. DeArment.

Following the Awards luncheon, Bill O'Neal spoke on "Caldwell, Kansas, 1871-1893 - The Wild West years of the Border Queen."

At 2:30 p.m. members left on buses headed to Gilcrease Museum. The museum displayed art of the Old West and picures and history of the Miller Brothers' 101 Ranch.

The evening banquet featured keynote speaker Michael Wallis, author of Route 66: The Mother Road and The Real Wild West: The 101 Ranch and the Creation of the American West among many other books. He spoke on "The Real Wild West: 101 Ranch and the West of Myth and Reality."

After Wallis spoke, WWHA conducted its annual period costume competion.

No comments: